You are here


29 - 03 - 2018

The Brain Prize 2018

The Brain Prize is awarded each year by the Lundbeck Foundation to one or more scientists who have distinguished themselves by outstanding contributions to neuroscience.
In 2018 the Brain Prize was awarded to four researchers who discovered how amyloid proteins accumulate in the brain and leads to cell death. This knowledge advances the diagnosis and treatment of Alzheimer's disease and other neurodegenerative diseases.



Professor John Hardy, using a transgenic mouse model for neurodegenerative disease, showed that an imbalance between the production and the elimination of amyloid proteins led to its accumulation.
Professor Bart de Strooper used transgenic patient cells and animal models to show that mutations in the presenilin gene contributed to the onset of Alzheimer's disease by helping the production of abnormal amyloid proteins.
Professor Christian Haas used transgenic mice to show how amyloid protein accumulation leads to cell death and memory loss. He showed how rare genetic mutations observed in families caused very aggressive forms of Alzheimer's disease.
Professor Michel Goedert showed using human tissue, transgenic mice, cell cultures and purified proteins, how the Tau protein becomes insoluble, which is the source of neurodegeneration.